The Resource The center of everything, Laura Moriarty

The center of everything, Laura Moriarty

Label
The center of everything
Title
The center of everything
Statement of responsibility
Laura Moriarty
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • From the Publisher: A dazzling debut in the tradition of Jane Hamilton and Mona Simpson. In Laura Moriarty's extraordinary first novel, a young girl tries to make sense of an unruly world spinning around her. Growing up with a single mother who is chronically out of work and dating a married man, 10-year old Evelyn Bucknow learns early how to fend for herself. Offering an affecting portrayal of a troubled mother/daughter relationship, one in which the daughter is very often expected to play the role of the adult, the novel also gives readers a searing rendering of the claustrophobia of small town Midwestern life, as seen through the eyes of a teenage girl. Evelyn must come to terms with the heartbreaking lesson of first love-that not all loves are meant to be-and determine who she is and who she wants to be. Stuck in the middle of Kansas, between best friends, and in the midst of her mother's love, Evelyn finds herself-in The Center of Everything
  • Fending for herself in the wake of a chronically unemployed, dysfunctional mother, ten-year-old Evelyn Bucknow experiences feelings of confinement in their small Midwestern town and suffers the heartache of a first love
Cataloging source
IUK
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1970-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Moriarty, Laura
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3613.O75
LC item number
C46 2003
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Girls
  • Kansas
  • First loves
  • Grandmothers
  • Single mothers
  • Gifted children
  • Mothers and daughters
Label
The center of everything, Laura Moriarty
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Edition
1st pbk. ed.
Extent
1 online resource (vi, 339 pages)
Form of item
online
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
(OCoLC)1029270583
Label
The center of everything, Laura Moriarty
Link
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Edition
1st pbk. ed.
Extent
1 online resource (vi, 339 pages)
Form of item
online
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
(OCoLC)1029270583

Library Locations

  • Internet ArchiveBorrow it
    300 Funston Ave, San Francisco, CA, 94118, US
    37.7823215 -122.4716373

Library Links

Processing Feedback ...